Album Review: HATE ETERNAL- ‘Upon Desolate Sands’

Hate Eternal has set the bar extremely high with the latest installment in their discography: ‘Upon Desolate Sands.’ The sound that is present on this album (released on October 26, 2018, through Season of Mist) is incredibly melodic, dark, and energizing. Hate Eternal is a name to take note of for a reason. They are consistently staying true to what death metal should be: Boundary breaking, cutting-edge music that challenges the listener and the musician alike.

Though all of their previous records are respected and influential, ‘Upon Desolate Sands’ is undoubtedly some of their best work. Right from the beginning of the first track ‘The Violent Fury,’ it is evident that this album is refreshing and different from your standard, run of the mill American death metal. The song, along with the remainder of the album, follows no direct formula. The result is one that takes the listener on a journey without a set course, full of surprises, twists, and turns that all come together in the end to paint one detailed, precise picture. Like a fine wine, ‘Upon Desolate Sands’ gets increasingly more impressive with time. Not once is there a point of filler, and it certainly doesn’t overstay its welcome. Spanning 39 minutes, ‘Upon Desolate Sands’ is simply a fantastic album through and through.

Led by former Morbid Angel guitarist Erik Rutan, Hate Eternal formed in 1997 and released their debut album ‘Conquering the Throne’ on November 2nd, 1999. Since then, they have released 6 other full-length albums and have achieved worldwide recognition as leaders in the American death metal scene. Having just finished a U.S. tour supporting Cannibal Corpse in early December, they show no signs of slowing down anytime soon.

Though some have argued it is no longer at its peak, the genre of death metal is just as vibrant and alive as it once was. The dark and intense songwriting featured on Hate Eternal’s seventh studio album proves that there is still much ground to be discovered in the field of extreme music. In the process of proving this claim, they did more than create a well-polished and remarkable record. They created a piece of history that will eternally be remembered as one of the greatest death metal albums to come out of the 21st century.

Track Listing
1. The Violent Fury
2. What Lies Beyond
3. Vengeance Striketh
4. Nothingness of Being
5. All Hope Destroyed
6. Portal of Myriad
7. Dark Age of Ruin
8. Upon Desolate Sands
9. For Whom We Have Lost

Current Hate Eternal Lineup
Erik Rutan – Guitars/Vocals
J.J. Hrubovcak – Bass/ Vocals
Hannes Grossmann – Drums

Label- Season of Mist

Purchase in the links below

Find Hate Eternal Online Below

-Zach Schmitt
Edited by Samantha Crocker 

Author: Maehem Underground Media

A team of people coming together to bring the local and underground music scene to you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s