Extended Play: TOXIC RUIN- ‘Mortal Insolence’

Hello again local readers and music lovers! Oh baby, do we have a sweet ass EP Release for you this time! Sheboygan based monsters of thrash Toxic Ruin have come out with their 4 track EP Mortal Insolence which is following their first album release Subterranean Terror. This album was a breath of fresh air for the local Wisconsin scene. After adding guitarists Jake and Blake, this was a firm lineup change with Stephen stepping up with slamming vocals; a whole new rage took the vocal spot! Toxic Ruin is now on a whole new level of amazing!

Building a great anticipation with their intro, it’s just a smack in the face! The first track “Mental Atrophy” instantly assures me that I am in for a treat! There is a new subtle dynamic that they have latched onto that I am really digging.

Toxic Ruin has everything their sound had before, but there’s a sprinkle of an almost melodic death metal touch added to the inner workings of their composition, definitely held together stronger than ever by the relationship between Stephen (bass, vocals) and Dave (drums). First of all Dave, as far as I’m concerned, is one of the leaders in our scene. Some of the best drummers I have known look up to his style and professionalism. As for Stephen, his voice has added new depths of passion and reality to who they are as a band, and what it is they have to say.

Don’t worry, in the second track “Tyrannical Demise” their is no shortage of compliments for the guitarists Jake and Blake. As a lover of damn near all thrash has to offer, I can say these two bring their f*cking ‘A’-game; especially when it comes to groove, technicality, and composition of this track as a whole. The progression of this song is nothing I’ve heard come out of Toxic Ruin before, and I love it!


Now, this next track was the first released single of the EP- “Insolent Obsession.” I’ve heard this song performed live and I had the fortune of shouting along to it at the top of my lungs! This song has the catchiest hooks I have ever heard come out of a Wisconsin local band yet! Calling all 6/8 fans-pulling back into that refrain and giving me the chills!

Finally, they cover a song that I have loved since I discovered metal-Death’s “Crystal Mountain” has never been honored better! This is something you just have to jam at full blast and scream your heart out! It will make you feel like you’ve traveled back to the first time this killer tune hits your ears!

100%- these dudes are a f*cking force to be reckoned with. I honestly believe that the ones out there that truly want to ‘get to the top’ without ill-intention and without any ill-will to others will definitely reach great success. Toxic Ruin is the best testament to just that, and this release proves to us all that hard work and true passion go miles for yourself as well as others!

Thank you all for reading, and please do yourselves a favor and check out Toxic Ruin for yourselves in the links below! Be safe out there and thrash fast!

Mortal Insolence is available HERE!

Mortal Insolence track list
1.Mental Atrophy
2. Tyrannical Demise
3. Insolent Obsession
4. Crystal Mountain (Death Cover)

Line Up
Jacob Baneck: Guitar
Blake Toltzmann: Guitar
David Miller: Drums
Stephen Behrendt: Bass/Vocals

Check out TOXIC RUIN Online

Mitchel Fulcer
Edited by Samantha Crocker

Author: Maehem Underground Media

A team of people coming together to bring the local and underground music scene to you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s